Pan-African Awards for Entrepreneurship in Education

All Africa based organizations working in education (primary, secondary, tertiary education; non-formal and adult education) and combating poverty in an innovative, sustainable and effective way are invited to participate in Pan-African Awards for Entrepreneurship in Education. Teach a Man to Fish is seeking for organizations or projects making great changes in their community. Entries can be made by a non-African NGO on behalf of their local partner/office (in Africa) in a condition that the prize money and conference travel bursaries are claimed by and used for the benefit of Africa-based organization.

Teach a Man to Fish partners with the Saville Foundation to award this prize.

At a Glance

Favorites 3
Comments 2


No close date is provided for this opportunity

How to Apply

About This Funding Opportunity

Eligibility Details

Applicants can be organizations in any African country focusing on education. Applying professionals can be teachers, doctors, lawyers, judges, accountants, bankers, engineers, and police officers. Organizations outside Africa can submit entries on behalf of their African partner. The African organization will be beneficiary in this condition. Entries must be accompanied by work contact details of a suitable referee. Referees must be independent of entrant organization and either a government official, qualified professional, or senior employee of an internationally recognized institution. Referees cannot be family members of the entrant.

List of eligible countries: Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo (Democratic Republic of the), Congo-Brazzaville (Republic of the Congo), Côte d’Ivoire (Ivory Coast), Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia,Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi,Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, São Tomé and Príncipe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Swaziland,Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Western Sahara, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Application Guidance


US$10,000 – Best entry award
US$5,000 each – Two runner ups
US$1,000 each – 55 best entries from each African country
Top three award winners will be offered a sponsored trip to the international conference and peer-learning workshop of Teach a man to fish.
Media publicity and enhanced sponsorship and donation opportunities are other benefits.


I am running a literacy program, the Matelong Writers Prize and with this grant, my organization will be able to change lives especially among children in some of the poorest regions of Uganda

This is a wonderful opportunity for teachers to improve upon teaching and learning.